Wieskirche – The Pilgrimage Church of Wies

Wieskirche – The Pilgrimage Church of Wies

The Pilgrimage Church of Wies (German: Wieskirche) is an oval rococo church, designed in the late 1740s by brothers J. B. and Dominikus Zimmermann, located in the foothills of the Alps, in the municipality of Steingaden in the Weilheim-Schongau district, Bavaria, Germany.

Wieskirche from outside.

It is said that, in 1738, tears were seen on a dilapidated wooden figure of the Scourged Saviour. The legend of this miracle resulted in a pilgrimage rush to see the sculpture. In 1740, a small chapel was built to house the statue but it was soon realized that the building would be too small for the number of pilgrims it attracted, and so Steingaden Abbey decided to commission a separate shrine. Many who have prayed in front of the statue of Jesus on the altar have claimed that people have been miraculously cured of their diseases, which has made this church even more of a pilgrimage site.

View of a stunning interior.

Construction took place between 1745 and 1754, and the interior was decorated with frescoes and with stuccowork in the tradition of the Wessobrunner School. “Everything was done throughout the church to make the supernatural visible. Sculpture and murals combined to unleash the divine in visible form”.

A view of the altar.

The Wieskirche was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List in 1983.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: